Welcome to the Department of Anthropology

The Department of Anthropology at the University of Alabama offers training in all four traditional sub-fields of Anthropology: Archaeology, Biological Anthropology, Linguistic Anthropology, and Social/Cultural Anthropology. Click here to learn more about what Anthropology is. We offer an undergraduate minor in Anthropology or Evolutionary Studies, and B.A.M.A., and Ph.D. degrees in Anthropology. At the doctoral level the department offers two tracks—The Archaeology of Complex Societies of the Americas and Biocultural Medical Anthropology.

Please explore this website to learn more about our Department, our people, our programs, our courses, or try some of the links to various anthropological web resources at the “More Resources” page.