Classifications
Specialty

Elliot Blair, Assistant Professor

25-E ten Hoor Hall | (205) 348-6542 | ehblair@ua.edu

http://eblair.people.ua.edu/

  • Complex societies of the Americans
  • Mississippi and Colonial Southeast U.S.
  • Mission Santa Catalina de Guale

John H. Blitz, Professor

25-D ten Hoor Hall | (205) 348-4074 | jblitz@ua.edu

http://jblitz.people.ua.edu/

  • Theoretical: Anthropological archaeology, origins of rank, class, and complex societies, sociopolitical differentiation and integration, political economy of households and communities, material correlates of social memory and collective identity, technological change
  • Methodological: regional and site settlement analysis, pottery chronology and function, analysis of monumental architecture
  • Regional and Temporal: U.S. Southeast, especially Mississippian and Woodland periods (Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia), Maya Lowlands (Belize)

Ian W. Brown, Professor

416 Mary Harmon Bryant Hall | (205) 348-9758 | ibrown@ua.edu

http://ibrown.people.ua.edu/

  • Southeastern U. S. archaeology
  • Museum anthropology
  • Archaeological material culture
  • Native American prehistory and ethnohistory
  • The role of salt in world history and prehistory
  • Historical archaeology
  • Historic cemeteries and gravestone studies

Katherine L. Chiou, Assistant Professor

24-D ten Hoor Hall / LAB: 415 Mary Harmon Bryant Hall | (205) 348-1929 | klchiou@ua.edu

http://kchiou.people.ua.edu/

  • Anthropological Archaeology
  • Paleoethnobotany/Archaeobotany
  • Andean Archaeology
  • Archaeology of Food
  • Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and 3D Modeling
  • Household Archaeology
  • Archaeological Ethics
  • Genus Capsicum

 

Keith Jacobi, Professor and Chair

19 ten Hoor Hall / LAB: 301 Mary Harmon Bryant | (205) 348-1960 | kjacobi@as.ua.edu

http://kjacobi.people.ua.edu/

  • Osteology
  • Forensic anthropology

Lisa LeCount, Professor

25-C ten Hoor Hall | 205-348-3733 | llecount@as.ua.edu

http://llecount.people.ua.edu/

  • Latin American archaeology
  • Origins of ancient Maya states
  • Pre-Columbian households
  • Feasting
  • Pottery

Alexandre Tokovinine, Assistant Professor

25-B ten Hoor Hall | (205) 348-1906 | atokovinine@ua.edu

http://atokovinine.people.ua.edu/

  • Maya archaeology and epigraphy
  • Iconography
  • 3D scanning and virtual reality